It's called a blog

Here’s New York Times writer Timothy Egan on Joe the Plumber‘s forthcoming book. Notice how he does his part to combat the terrible and untrue stereotype of NYT elitism (sarcasm):

The unlicensed pipe fitter known as Joe the Plumber is out with a book this month, just as the last seconds on his 15 minutes are slipping away. I have a question for Joe: Do you want me to fix your leaky toilet?

I didn’t think so. And I don’t want you writing books. Not when too many good novelists remain unpublished.

—- snip —-

There was a time when I wanted to be like Sting, the singer, belting out, “Roxanne …” I guess that’s why we have karaoke, for fantasy night. If only there was such a thing for failed plumbers, politicians or celebrities who think they can write.

It’s called a blog, dude. Joe the Plumber’s got one of those too (coming soon!).

Me, I’m not worried about Joe the Writer. Nobody’s making Tom the Reader or Timothy the Elitist go out and buy the book, right? To blame bad writers for the underlying culture of flash-in-the-pan media too little too late.

3 Responses to “It's called a blog”

  1. Personal Failure Says:

    On the one hand, I kind of agree with the sentiment that with so many talented writers unpublished, it seems a shame to give Sam Not-a-Plumber a book deal, but on the other hand, let market forces decide. He is a flash in the pan, he’s enjoying his Warhol-mandated quarter hour of fame, and in a few years, we’ll all be saying, “Joe who?”

    What truely annoyed me was when Palin expanded Joe the Plumber into a cast of thousands, including “Tito the Builder.” If those people get a book deal, then I’ll complain.

  2. Tom Ryberg Says:

    What truely annoyed me was when Palin expanded Joe the Plumber into a cast of thousands, including “Tito the Builder.” If those people get a book deal, then I’ll complain.

    LOL. Thanks, PF.

  3. Fran Says:

    I, for one, am wondering about the viability of a book by Fran the Complainer? (snort!)


Leave a Reply

